UK Flag French Flag
McIntyre Adventure


Nicholson 32 Mk X Masthead Sloop

Boat Name: Laaland

Status: out

The Skipper

Loïc Lepage bought the Nicholson 32 Mk X yacht Laaland back in 2015 with a plan to have one of the best-prepared yachts in the race.

After an 18-month refit, he sailed her between May and August 2017 from Quiberon to the Azores and back prior to completing his jury rig test. Loïc has more than 20,000 miles of solo sailing under his belt including three trans-Biscay and four transatlantic crossings.

He says of the GGR:

I’m very happy to be part of this legendary race. When I was 16, I devoured books written by Bernard Moitessier and Sir Robin Knox-Johnston and the dream of completing a solo round-the-world race myself has remained a passion of mine.

In 2011, Lepage came close to realising his dream, and after two years of preparation, he set out in his First 35 class yacht.

Unfortunately, 10 days out, my boat hit a container and sank within 2 hours, but the experience has not changed my motivation. The GGR is the perfect race to realise a dream.

Loïc successfully raised money to support his campaign by the unusual method of crowd funding.

The Boat

Loïc Lepage has chosen to race the Nicholson 32 Mk X yacht Laaland, one of the smallest yachts in the fleet. Having completed the trials in the summer of 2017, she returned to the shipyard at Vannes to have a crash bulkhead fitted, leaks sealed and new radio equipment fitted. Loïc aimed to have the boat back in the water to complete sea trials in May 2018 and will then sail to the UK to take part in the Suhaili 50 Falmouth Parade of Sail prior to the start of the GGR from Les Sables d’Olonne on July 1st.

Boat NameLaaland
Boat TypeNicholson 32 Mk X Masthead Sloop
DesignerCharles A. Nicholson / Peter Nicholson
BuilderCamper & Nicholson (UK)
LOA33.00ft /10.05m
LWL24.00ft / 7.32m
Beam9.30′ / 2.82m
Draft5.60′ / 1.70m
Displacement13693 lbs / 6211 kgs
Sail Area470sq. ft / 43.66sq. m



Photo Gallery

For high-res press images - Register to download

2026 Skippers