facebook
twitter
soundcloud
instagram
youtube
flickr
Participant

Istvan Kopar (65)

The United States of America flag, produced by Daniel McRaeEtats-Unis

Profil

Nom Istvan Kopar

Né le 8. mars 1953

Nationalité Americain

Pays d'inscription Etats-Unis

Istvan Kopar, un américain New-yorkais d’origine hongroise, est navigateur professionnel et Capitaine diplômé de la garde-côtière américaine, depuis des décennies. Il a enregistré plus de 60 000 miles nautiques à son compteur, en naviguant en solitaire. L’exploit dont il est le plus fier à ce jour, a été de réaliser un tour du monde en solitaire avec une escale, mais sans GPS, en 1990/91. Il s’est appuyé uniquement sur le repérage au sextant, les tracés de cartes manuelles, et les prévisions météorologiques reçues en code Morse. En voguant sur son bateau de 31 pieds, qu’il avait construit lui-même, Istvan a accompli le voyage en temps record compte tenu de la taille de son voilier. Il prit aussi la barre du voilier vainqueur du Hong Kong Challenge, course de voile autour du monde, en 1996/97. Il a fait parti des premiers finalistes, en 1992, dans la course transatlantique « 500-Columbus », et remporté le Trophée Kapry en 1995, à l’Atlantic Rally for Cruisers (ARC).

Il dit de la GGR: « Cette course est faite sur mesure pour moi. Mon premier héros et mon modèle était Joshua Slocum, le premier navigateur en solitaire autour du monde. Il n’avait aucun soutien foncier, pas de dispositifs modernes de navigation et de communication, ni même de régulateur d’allures. Il était de l’aventure réelle. Et il a pu accomplir cet exploit historique en raison de son éducation et de son lien constant avec les océans et la navigation.
Nous admirons les autres grands marins, mais l’écart créé entre la nature et ses utilisateurs devient de plus en plus visible jour après jour. Ceux qui concourent dans les grande courses au large telles que le Vendée Globe ou la Volvo dépendent de plus en plus des équipements fabriqués par l’homme et moins dépendants de la nature. Ils commencent à ressembler et à agir comme des astronautes dans l’espace, de plus en plus isolés de la nature dans leur « vaisseau de type spatial». Il y a une demande pour cela, et c’est pour le mieux. Pourtant, nous avons encore besoin d’Optimistes pour nous former. Et pour la même raison, nous avons besoin de courses comme la GGR. Il y a, à mon sens, une mission derrière tout cela. L’une de nos responsabilités est de conserver notre patrimoine et notre sens de marin, ainsi que d’augmenter le nombre de personnes autonomes, indépendantes et par conséquent heureuses dans le monde “.

profile
boat

Le Bateau

Numéro 37

Nom Puffin
Type Tradewind 35 Cutter
Concéption John Rock
Construction Tradewind Yachts (NL)
LOA 35.01ft / 10.67m
LWL 25.82ft / 7.87m
Largeur 10.50ft / 3.20m
Tirant d’eau 5.51ft / 1.68m
Déplacement 19442 lbs / 8819 kgs
Voilure 725 sq. ft / 67.35sq. m

Istvan Kopar a fait l’acquisition de Puffin, en 2015, un voilier Tradewind 35 de 1986 conçu par John Rock, pour participer à la GGR. Istvan et son équipe ont mis à nu le bateau pour ajouter des couches de fibres de verre supplémentaires sur la coque afin d’améliorer sa résistance. D’autres modifications, ont permis de réduire la taille du cockpit et d’améliorer le drainage, de rajouter un compartiment étanche à l’avant et des réservoirs d’eau fraîche complémentaires.
Pendant ces réaménagements, Istvan a enlevé sa montre, non seulement parce qu’elle le gênait à certains moments, mais aussi pour l’empêcher de compter les jours comme des minutes. Il a gagné le soutien nécessaire de ses amis et de l’industrie, en particulier Alexseal, Seahawk, Selden, Windpilot, Wempe, BaoBab Group, et Bayside Canvas.
En novembre 2017, Puffin, a été remis à l’eau après une restauration complète de plus de 2 années. Il a fini ses essais en mer au large d’Oyster Bay, à New York, avant de repartir pour l’hiver et terminer les derniers préparatifs.

Le voilier a été repeint en un magnifique orange vif, et doit être remis à l’eau à la fin du mois de mars. Istvan partira ensuite pour une traversée transatlantique afin de compléter ses tests qualificatifs de 2 000 milles. Il prévoit d’établir son camp de base à Southampton, au Royaume-Uni avant le départ.

Skipper Updates

25. septembre 2018 0:00

« Merci pour la bonne nouvelle et incroyable coordination en lui souhaitant une récupération rapide »ISTVAN KOPAR, a bénéficié de conditions plus clémentes que le peloton de tête, même si la houle générée par le gros coup de vent de ce week-end est encore conséquente. Aux côtés de TAPIO LEHTINEN et LOIC LEPAGE, il navigue en bordure haute d’un système de vent de nord-ouest qui va se renforcer encore avant de faiblir en passant au sud-ouest …des orientations qui permettront de progresser vers la route directe, plein Est. A noter qu’ISTVAN KOPAR qui avait doublé TAPIO LEHTINEN est à nouveau derrière le finlandais à cause d’un passage difficile liée à la dépression ce week-end.

20. septembre 2018 0:00

Les prochaines 48h s’annoncent violentes pour la flotte… En effet, plusieurs systèmes dépressionnaires pourraient soulever des houles de plus de 10m et des vents dépassant les 50 noeuds. Istvan Kopar en a déjà fait les frais cette nuit, Puffin s’est fait retourné vers 4h30, abimant ses moyens de communications, mais tout va bien.
Message texte : « Me suis fait retourner 0430Z je vais bien, j’ai pompé la cabine gréement ok mais pas de téléphone qui fonctionne VHF etc à la cape pour le moment »

19. septembre 2018 0:00

Istvan, naviguant toujours non loin de Tapio, vient d’essuyer une méchante tempête hier soir : « Contre 35 nds de vent Est la nuit dernière qui à tourné en tempête dans l’après-midi ». Puffin « Naviguant dans la tempête avec voile tempête et ancre flottante déployée plus de 60 nds ». Il semble toujours avoir quelques problèmes avec son régulateur d’allure, et se prépare à affronter le nouveau système qui se développe au sud et devrait arriver dans les prochaines 48h.. « Tempête d’hier m’a ralenti aujourd’hui le manque de vent je n’ai jamais été un »; “fan de l’Océan Indien ferais mieux de me préparer pour le pire ».

13. septembre 2018 0:00

“Nous sommes dans le second quart de la course maintenant”. dit-il.Istvan nous rapporte ce matin lors de son appel de sécurité, qu’il a vu le baromètre descendre d’un coup hier soir vers 4h, et fût impressionné par des éclairs, sans tonnerre ! Effrayants, uniques et silencieux.. Puis, le soleil s’est levé, magnifique et tout s’est calmé, les conditions étaient superbes. (via satellite) “GD6THROUNDINGOFCAPEOFAGULHAS,3TIMESWESTBOUNDBUTWASTHESOWEST”

10. septembre 2018 0:00

Jour 70 : Franchissement du Cap de Bonne Espérance !Ce matin, ISTVAN KOPAR et TAPIO LEHTINEN se sont retrouvés à franchir le Cap en même temps à moins d’1 mille l’un de l’autre, permettant un contact visuel, après tant de jours passés à naviguer, et après des trajectoires bien différentes…

6. septembre 2018 0:00

Dans une sérieuse tempête,faisant rugir le tourmentin et la voile tempête »Une tempête similaire dans un lieu similaire au même moment que la SUHAILI 50 ans auparavant. Istvan Kopar Solo Circumnavigator continue son aventure avec le sourire!

4. septembre 2018 0:00

Après sa belle remontée, Istvan semble affronter quelques problèmes dernièrement : « Mince mon régulateur d’allure m’a encore abandonné dans une vilaine tempête au cours du week-end » et il nous écrit ce matin qu’il est : « Dans une sérieuse tempête,faisant rugir le tourmentin et la voile tempête ».

30. août 2018 0:00

Cela se passe plutôt bien pour le trio qui ferme la marche de cette GGR 2018. ISTVAN KOPAR se montre le plus rapide, à près de 6 nœuds. Il a parcouru plus de 130 milles ces dernières 24 h. Il a même doublé TAPIO LEHTINEN, tout proche de lui dans son nord. Dernier, MARK SINCLAIR glisse à près de 5 nœuds, gagnant du terrain.Ces trois derniers bateaux ne devraient pas trop souffrir dans les prochains jours, même si le vent va un peu baisser. Ils seront les premiers à toucher le front qui s’avance derrière eux et cette puissante zone de vent frais va les rejoindre le 1er septembre et balayera ensuite toute la flotte !

22. août 2018 0:00

Istvan se dirige vers une zone de vents contraires qui lui barre la route Sud. Il est bien chahuté “comme dans des montagnes russes” depuis quelques jours.

16. août 2018 0:00

Istvan progresse à bonne allure à 5.3nds, et profite de son aventure. Il n’a pas encore remplacé la drisse qui a cassé, ni réparé sa fuite de gaz, mais sa fuite d’eau est quasi-réparée. Il se soucie de son stock d’eau (via satellite): “Eaufraicheàcausedumanquedepluiebuvantavecpreoccupationmaintenant » et du froid glacial qui est tombé d’un coup hier soir le poussant à sortir sur le pont cette nuit pour verifier /surveiller les possibles icebergs avec sa torche!

14. août 2018 0:00

Istvan bénéficie encore de bon vents pour traverser pour l’instant, et il devrait être bien placé pour dans les prochains jours pour maintenir son allure. Istvan (via satellite) nous passe le « BonjourduPlombierelectriciendel’endroitlepluscahoteuxdestradwindstraversantlebrésil »

9. août 2018 0:00

Derrière, ITSVAN KOPAR file bon train dans les alizés de sud-est bien établis. Il nous rapporte aujourd’hui qu’il doit trouver une solution pour réparer une fuite à l’avant du bateau, car il vide 50 litres d’eau tous les 2 jours du compartiment avant. Aussi il mentionne qu’il va devoir nettoyer les bernicles déjà nombreux accrochés à l’arrière de Puffin.

6. août 2018 0:00

Ce matin, c’est au tour d’ITSVAN KOPAR de franchir l’équateur, en 13ème position. Il est maintenant bien installé dans l’alizé de sud-est qui caractérise la sortie du Pot au Noir lorsque l’on plonge vers le sud. L’Americano-Hongrois y file en effet à bonne vitesse et affiche la meilleure moyenne de la course ces dernières 24 h, avec près de 120 milles parcourus. Dans son sillage, il ne reste plus qu’ANTOINE COUSOT, seul en catégorie Chichester.

3. août 2018 0:00

Il ne reste plus que deux bateaux de la Golden Globe Race 2018 dans l’hémisphère nord, Antoine en catégorie Chichester, et Istvan qui ferme la marche du classement général. Istvan a enfin viré au sud ouest, encore à un peu plus de 300 milles de la ligne imaginaire, passage symbolique vers le sud…Il nous rapporte dans ces derniers messages textes, un problème avec son régulateur d’allure, dont la palle a été endommagée. Encore quelques réparations à prévoir pour Istvan !

27. juillet 2018 0:00

(English) ISTVAN CHICHESTER CLASS Consideration

(English) In the spirit of the GGR and accepting stress may have confused ISTVAN on Rule interpretation and on the basis that no real or materiel advantage has been provided to ISTVAN through the inappropriate use of his satellite phone and his stop in Port, an alternate time penalty has been decided. For breaching NOR 3.1.4 an 18-hour time penalty is given. For breaching NOR 3.1.5 a 6-hour time penalty is given. ISTVAN will now move from CHICHESTER CLASS back into the GGR ENTRANT status. Detail could check out GGR facebook.

20. juillet 2018 0:00

Istvan s’est battu avec son bateau en essayant désespérément d’amener Puffin à s’auto-réguler depuis le départ. Maintenant, il se demande s’il faut s’arrêter aux îles du Cap-Vert pour changer son régulateur d’allure. Le détail de ses cartes ne lui inspire pas confiance à l’approche des îles et il sait que le processus de changement du système lui coûtera plusieurs jours. Tout cela est encore instable, avec l’expérience brutale d’essayer de naviguer sans auto-direction efficace sur le bateau. Istvan est un homme révolté qui se voit confronté à des décisions difficiles en raison de son reclassement dans la catégorie Chichester.

18. juillet 2018 0:00

Istvan s’est engagé dans une bataille pour mener son bateau avec le régulateur d’allure depuis le départ des Sables d’Olonne. Il a barré à la main pendant la majeure partie de la course. Ses messages et son visage au point de passage à Lanzarote parlaient d’eux-même, l’épuisement. Beaucoup auraient cédé, mais Istvan est un homme si déterminé. Cela a dû être une décision décourageante de se diriger vers les îles du Cap-Vert où il a l’intention de changer son équipement. Ce faisant, il rejoindra Antoine dans la catégorie Chichester. Espérons que cela résoudra ses problèmes et permettra à Istvan de bien dormir.

16. juillet 2018 0:00

Istvan a eu du mal à naviguer seul dans ces conditions, déclarant que «c’est très frustrant, je ne peux même pas descendre pour utiliser les toilettes sans que le bateau ne devienne incontrôlable. C’est le gros problème et le plus grand défi sera d’essayer de contrôler le bateau dans l’océan Austral, c’est vraiment effrayant, je suis sûr que je serai renversé plusieurs fois. Sans sponsors, j’abandonnerais.  » La vie est dure sur Puffin.

11. juillet 2018 0:00

Istvan continue d’avoir du mal à faire fonctionner efficacement son bateau avec le système de régulation d’allure. Cela le conduit encore à de hauts niveaux de fatigue puisqu’il barre Puffin pendant de longues heures. Il a maintenant réussi à maîtriser l’unité de messagerie YB3 et envoie ses messages quotidiens ce qui est encourageant.

6. juillet 2018 0:00

Istvan Kopar

Istvan a eu des préparatifs plutôt survoltés aux Sables d’Olonne et il a dû souffler quand il est parti naviguer. Le peu de vent a causé des problèmes de gouvernail sans doute à cause du frottement avec le système de pilotage. Il a donc barré presque toute la journée et a fini comme aimanté par la côte galicienne.
Nabil a dit l’avoir vu s’en rapprocher, il l’a appelé mais Istvan n’a pas répondu.
Pas de doute qu’avec si peu de sommeil, il avait l’air épuisé quand il a passé son appel téléphonique hebdomadaire à la course.

5. avril 2018 0:00

La préparation du Tradewind 35 Puffin de l’américain Istvan Kopar a été retardée par 4 tempêtes de neige qui ont touché Oyster Bay à Long Island (New-York) au cours du mois dernier, mais il espère pouvoir effectuer son premier test dans l’océan aux Bermudes vers mi-avril.« Mon programme est très chargé, nous nous équipons actuellement d’un générateur de vent et de panneaux solaires, et je travaille sur mes équipements de sécurité et mes approvisionnements ». Istvan envisage de partir naviguer aux Bermudes accompagné de son manager d’équipe, Ian Gumprecht, afin de minimiser les risques pour ce premier essai au large à travers les courants du Golf Stream, avant de poursuivre la traversée de l’Atlantique vers Southampton où il récupéra de nouvelles voiles et finira de peaufiner les derniers détails.

Photos & Vidéos Skipper

pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic

facebook
twitter
soundcloud
instagram
youtube
flickr
Entrant

Istvan Kopar (65)

The United States of America flag, produced by Daniel McRaeUSA

Profile

Name Istvan Kopar

Born March 8th 1953

Nationality American

Country of entry USA

Istvan Kopar, a Hungarian-born American, is a professional sailor and U.S. Coast Guard-licensed captain who has logged more than 60,000 nautical miles sailing solo. His proudest accomplishment to date was his solo one-stop circumnavigation in 1990-1991 without the aid of GPS. He relied on a sextant, manual chart plotting, and weather forecasts broadcast in Morse code. Sailing a 31-foot boat that he had built himself, Istvan completed the voyage in record time for the size of his yacht. Istvan also skippered the winning yacht in the 1996/97 Hong Kong Challenge around the world yacht race. He was among the top finishers in the 1992 America 500-Columbus Transatlantic Race, and won the Kapry’s Trophy in the 1995 Atlantic Rally for Cruisers (ARC).

He says of the GGR: “This race is custom-made for me. My first hero and role model was Joshua Slocum, the first recorded solo circumnavigator. He had no land support, no modern navigation and communication devices, or even a mechanical wind vane. He was the real deal. And he was able to accomplish this historic achievement due to his upbringing and constant connection with the oceans and sailing.
We admire the other great sailors, but the gap between nature and its users has been getting more visible by the day. Those competing in the Vendée Globe or Volvo circumnavigation races are becoming increasingly dependent on manmade equipment, and less dependent on nature. They start to look and act like astronauts in space, getting more and more isolated from nature. There is a demand for that, and it is all well and good, but we still need ‘Optimists’ during our upbringing. And for the very same reason, we need races like the GGR to maintain our heritage and seamanship, as well as to increase the number of self-sufficient, independent, and consequently happy people in the world.”

profile
boat

Boat

RACE NO 37

Name Puffin
Type Tradewind 35 Cutter
Designer John Rock
Builder Tradewind Yachts (NL)
LOA 35.01ft / 10.67m
LWL 25.82ft / 7.87m
Beam 10.50ft / 3.20m
Draft 5.51ft / 1.68m
Displacement 19442 lbs / 8819 kgs
Sail area 725sq. ft / 67.35sq. m

Istvan Kopar purchased the 1986-built Tradewind 35 class yacht Puffin in 2015 to compete in the GGR. Istvan and his team have since stripped the inside and outside of the boat and added more layers of fiberglass to improve her durability. Other modifications included decreasing the size of the cockpit and improving its drainage, adding a watertight bulkhead inside the bow, and installing an additional freshwater tank.
During this work Istvan removed his wristwatch, not just because it was an obstacle at times, but to stop himself from checking off the days like minutes. He has won much-needed support from friends and the industry, in particular Alexseal, Seahawk, Selden, Windpilot, Wempe, BaoBab Group, and Bayside Canvas. Puffin was relaunched in November 2017 following a comprehensive 2-year refit. Initial sea trials took place in Oyster Bay, New York, before she was hauled out again for the winter. Puffin is now painted bright orange and was due to be re-launched at the end of March. Istvan planned to use the transatlantic crossing to complete his 2,000-mile qualifying sail and intended to base himself in Southampton UK prior to the start.

Skipper Updates

September 20th 2018 12:00 AM

The next 48 hours are expected to be violent for the fleet…In fact, two low pressure systems could lift swells of more than 10m and winds exceeding 50 knots. Istvan Kopar has already faced it last night, Puffin was knockdown around 4:30, damaging his communication means, but he is ok.
Text message :“GD GOT KNOCKED DOWN 0430Z I AM OK PUMPE OUT CABIN RIG OK BUT NO WORKING PHONE VHF ETC HOVE TO FOR THE TIME BEING”

September 19th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan still sailing along with Tapio, was heat by a storm last night : “WAS BEATING 35KT SENELY LAST NIGHT WHICH SHIFTED INTO ANLY STORM BY AM TRY” ; Puffin“ SAILNLY STORM GOT HERE AND AM AND GOT DROP TRY SANDD PLOYDROGUE ABOVE 60KT” He still seems to have some problems with his windvane, and is getting ready to face the new storm system developing in the south, and arriving through in the next 48h.. “GD YESTERDAY STORM SLOWED ME DOWN TODAY THE LACK OF WIND I HAVE NEVER BEEN A” “FAN OF THE INDIAN OCEAN BETTER PREP FOR THE WORTH”.

September 13th 2018 12:00 AM

“We are in the second quarter of the race now”. He says. Istvan reported to the Race Control this morning during his weekly safety call, that he saw the barometer go down at once last night around 4am, and was impressed by lightning, without thunder! Scary, unique and silent ..Then, the sun rose, beautiful and everything calmed down, the conditions were superb. Istvan #Kopar (via satellite) “Bien6èmeàpasserlecapd’Agulhas,3foiscôtéouestmaisc’étaitleSudouest”

September 10th 2018 12:00 AM

Day 70 : rounding Cape of Good Hope ! This morning, ISTVAN KOPAR and TAPIO LEHTINEN found themselves rounding the Cape at the same time within 1 mile of each other, allowing eye contact, after so many days of sailing, and after good trajectories. different …

September 6th 2018 12:00 AM

“GD IN MAJOR STORM IT’S ROARING STORMJIB AND TRYSAIL”Similar storm in Similar place in Similar time as SUHAILI 50 years earlier. Istvan Kopar Solo Circumnavigator getting on with his adventure is still smiling!”

September 4th 2018 12:00 AM

After his nice progress last week, Istvan seems to have had few troubles lately : (via satellite) “GD MY SELF STEERING LEFT ME ALONE AGAIN IN A NASTY STORM DURING THE WEEKEND” and he is writing this morning : “GD IN MAJOR STORM IT’S ROARING STORMJIB AND TRYSAIL”.

August 30th 2018 12:00 AM

This is going pretty well for the last trio of this GGR 2018. ISTVAN KOPAR is the fastest, at nearly 6 knots. He has traveled more than 130 miles in the past 24 hours. He even overtook TAPIO LEHTINEN, close to him in his north. Last, MARK SINCLAIR slips to nearly 5 knots, is catching up on Istvan.These last three boats should not suffer too much in the coming days, even if the wind will go down slightly. They will be the first to touch the front coming behind them and this powerful zone of fresh wind will reach them on September the 1st and then sweep the entire fleet!

August 22nd 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan goes to a headwinds zone that stands in his way South. He has been like in “Daroller Coaster” the past few days.

August 16th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan is progressing well at 5.3nds, and enjoys his adventure. He has not yet replaced the broken halyard, nor repaired that gas leak, but his water leak is almost fixed. He is worried about his water supply (via satellite): “FRESH WATER DUE TO LACK OF RAIN DRINKING WISA CONCERN NOW “ and the suddent icy cold temperature last night pushing him outside on the deck last night to check / monitor possible icebergs with his spotlight!

August 14th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan is enjoying a good breeze to go across for the moment, and he should be in a good position in the next few days to progress at a good speed. Istvan #Kopar (via satellite) GDYDPLUMBERTDELECTRITIANINTHEMOSTBUMPYTWRIDEEVERCROSSINGBRAZI

August 9th 2018 12:00 AM

At the back, Istvan speed off through the southeastern tradewinds well established. He told us today that he must find a solution to repair a leak at the bow of the boat, because at the moment he is emptying 50 liters of water every 2 days from the front compartment. He also mentions that he will have to clean up the many barnicles already attached to the rear of Puffin.

August 6th 2018 12:00 AM

This morning, ITSVAN KOPAR crossed the equator, in 13th position. Puffin is now well established in the southeast trade wind symbolizing the exit of the Doldrums when diving south. The Americano-Hungarian is indeed spinning at speed and has the best average of the race in the last 24 hours, with nearly 120 miles sailed. In its wake, only ANOINE COUSOT remains, in Chichester Class.

August 3rd 2018 12:00 AM

There are only two boats left in the northern hemisphere, in the 2018 Golden Globe Race, Antoine in the Chichester category, and Istvan who is closing the overall ranking. Istvan has finally tacked to the south west, and is still a little more than 300 miles away from the imaginary line, symbolic passage to the south… He reports in his last text message, a problem with his Winpilot, whose palle was damaged. Still some repairs to plan for Istvan!

July 27th 2018 12:00 AM

ISTVAN CHICHESTER CLASS Consideration

In the spirit of the GGR and accepting stress may have confused ISTVAN on Rule interpretation and on the basis that no real or materiel advantage has been provided to ISTVAN through the inappropriate use of his satellite phone and his stop in Port, an alternate time penalty has been decided. For breaching NOR 3.1.4 an 18-hour time penalty is given. For breaching NOR 3.1.5 a 6-hour time penalty is given. ISTVAN will now move from CHICHESTER CLASS back into the GGR ENTRANT status. Detail could check out GGR facebook.

July 20th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan has been wrestling with his boat desperately trying to get Puffin to self steer since the start. Now he is wrestling with whether to stop in the Cape Verde Islands to change his wind vane self steering system. The detail on his charts does not inspire him with confidence in approaching the islands and he knows that the process of changing systems will cost him many days. This is all balanced against the brutal experience of trying to sail the boat without effective self steering. Istvan is a man in conflict presented with tough decisions as a move to the Chichester Class looms large.

July 18th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan has been engaged in a battle to get his boat to self steer since the start in Les Sable d’Olonne. He has hand steered for most of the race. His messages and his face at the film drop in Lanzarote spoke of one thing, exhaustion. Many would have relented but Istvan is such a determined man. It must have been a heart breaking decision to head for the Cape Verde Islands where he intends to change his self steering equipment. In doing this he will join Antoine in the Chichester Class. Lets hope that this solves his problems and allows Istvan to get some proper sleep.

July 16th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan has been struggling to get his boat to self steer, reporting that “It is very frustrating. I can’t even go down below to use the heads without the boat going out of control. I have been hand steering since the start and have no energy for anything else. This is the big issue and the biggest challenge will be trying to control the boat in the Southern Ocean. That is really scary. Im sure I’ll be knocked down several times. If it wasn’t for my sponsors, I would give up.” Life is tough on Puffin.

July 11th 2018 12:00 AM

Istvan continues to have problems getting his boat to work effectively with the wind vane self steering system. This is still driving him to high levels of fatigue as he hand steers the Puffin for long hours. He has managed to master the YB3 texting unit now and is sending in his daily messages which is encouraging.

July 6th 2018 12:00 AM

Light winds have played havoc with Istvan's wind vane

Istvan had a frantic preparation in Les Sable d’Olonne and it must have been some relief to get to sea. Light winds have played havoc with his wind vane self steering and the friction of the steering system may be contributing to this. Consequently he is hand steering for most of the day and has fallen under the lure of the Galician coast. Nabil reported seeing him hove too, called out and got no response. No doubt getting little sleep, he sounds exhausted when he made his weekly phone call.

April 5th 2018 12:00 AM

Work on American Istvan Kopar’s Tradewind 35 Puffin has been delayed by four snowstorms to have hit his Oyster Bay base on Long Island New York during the past month, but he expects to set out on his first ocean test to Bermuda in mid-April.
“My schedule has been extremely overloaded. We are currently fitting a wind generator and solar panels and I am working on my safety gear and provisioning.”
Istvan plans to set sail for Bermuda accompanied by his team manager Ian Gumprecht to minimize the risks during this first offshore sea trial across the Gulf Stream before continuing across the Atlantic solo to Southampton where he will pick up new sails and finish the tune up.

Clips & Pics Skipper

pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic