facebook
twitter
soundcloud
instagram
youtube
flickr
CHICHESTER

Antoine Cousot (47)

France

Profil

Nom Antoine Cousot

Né le 9. mai 1971

Nationalité Français

Pays d'inscription France

Antoine COUSOT est un navigateur professionnel basé à Noirmoutier, en France, avec son épouse et ses trois enfants. Il a navigué l’équivalent de trois fois le tour du monde, convoyant des bateaux, ou en étant capitaine de grands yachts de luxe aux quatre coins du monde.
Avec plus de 15 traversées d’Océans à son actif, Antoine a acquis une vaste expérience maritime et des compétences marquées en pilotage de bateau.

Antoine travaille avec Oceano Vox Vendée, une organisation locale à but non lucratif, pour sensibiliser aux questions environnementales et mener des recherches sur la psychologie pendant la course.

Pourquoi participer à la GGR? “C’est une occasion unique d’aller encore plus loin dans cette relation avec la mer. C’est un défi d’accomplir ce que peu de marins ont fait avant; C’est une quête d’une dimension cosmique.
J’ai dû abandonner une carrière internationale, une vie confortable et vendre ma maison et mon bateau. Je suis rentré en France avec ma famille et j’ai créé une société pour gérer ce projet. Cette entreprise a ses hauts et ses bas et est très exigeante, mais quoiqu’il en soit, une riche expérience en terme d’enseignement et de discipline à titre personnel, qui m’aidera dans tout ce que je décide de faire après.
En ce qui concerne les autres, le simple fait de prendre le départ sera une victoire, mais plus encore, je veux réaliser le rêve de naviguer dans le sillage de Bernard Moitessier et dire, je l’ai fait”.

Antoine a lancé une campagne pour collecter 1m€ pour le “Fonds de bourses d’études Antoine Cousot” et donner à 50 étudiants l’opportunité de transformer leur avenir, grâce à une éducation pratique et flexible en Sciences de l’Environnement, de la Terre et des Ecosystèmes. Ce programme est organisé par l’Open University, qui tout comme la GGR, fêtera son 50ème anniversaire à cette occasion.
Antoine, diplômé de l’Open University, a déclaré: « L’O.U. a changé mon ouverture d’esprit sur le monde dans lequel nous vivons. Ils sont venus vers moi avec les bons outils au bon moment, pour m’aider à poursuivre mes rêves. Maintenant, je veux partager mon expérience avec les autres – l’apprentissage fait intimement partie de notre vie. « 

profile
boat

Le Bateau

Numéro 1

Nom Métier Intérim
Type Ketch Biscay 36
Concéption Alan Hill
Construction Robert Ives, Falmouth Boat Construction (UK)
LOA 35.92ft / 10.95m
LWL 27.23ft / 8.30m
Largeur 10.75ft / 3.28m
Tirant d’eau 5.75ft / 1.75m
Déplacement 15680lbs / 7112kg
Voilure 667sq. ft / 62sq. m

Il a acheté le premier Ketch de la série Biscay 36, conçu par Alan Hill, construit au Chantier Naval de Falmouth en 1975, où il est retourné passer l’hiver 2016/17 pour un réaménagement complet.
Remis à l’eau en mai 2017, Antoine a ensuite navigué durant l’été dans le golf de Gascogne. Le voilier a ensuite été exposé au Salon Nautique de Paris en décembre 2017.
Cousot a obtenu le parrainage de l’agence d’Intérim vendéenne “Métier Intérim”. Il a consacré les premiers mois du printemps à acquérir le plus d’expérience possible dans les tempêtes hivernales de l’Atlantique pour se préparer à l’océan Austral.

Skipper Updates

17. août 2018 0:00

Ces derniers jours Antoine Cousot a eu la “SENSATION AU REVEIL D ETRE UN POISSON CUIT EN CROUTE DE SEL” encore sous de bonnes températures et des vents légers. Maintenant il semble reparti avec 4 nds affichés au tracker, “METIER INTERIM TOUJOURS PLEIN SUD SUR L’AUROROUTE DES ALIZES!”. Il nous rapporte lors de son appel ce matin, que la navigation est très agitée et que le sommeil est difficile, et qu’il a plein de petites choses à réparer pour le maintenir occupé, comme sa drisse qui a cassé ou son régulateur d’allure qui fait du bruit…La zone de haute pression qui se trouve face à lui devrait se résorber avant son passage. Il devrait bientôt virer de bord et plonger Sud-Est pour se rapprocher de la route directe vers le Cap qui est encore à plus de 2750 NM!

13. août 2018 0:00

ANTOINE COUSOT, désormais second de la classe Chichester derrière PHILIPPE PECHE. Il va devoir continuer sur le même bord encore plusieurs jours, ce qui devrait lui permettre de poursuivre les nombreuses lectures qui rythme sa navigation solitaire. “J AI LU EN UNE NUIT TERRE DES HOMMES DE ST EXUPERY!GRANDIOSE”.

9. août 2018 0:00

ANTOINE COUSOT (catégorie Chichester) progresse difficilement vers le sud, dans des vents qui poussent Métier Interim franchement vers l’ouest. Il nous écrit cette semaine  » UNE SEMAINE DE PRES SERRE.LE SUD CA SE MERITE ». Heureusement, il a pu entendre hier les voix de ses enfants, enregistrées sur une bonne vieille cassette vintage ! Un réconfort inestimable pour ces marins dont l’isolement commence à se faire sentir après près de 40 jours de mer.  » Mer calme pas de vent. je vais nager et pousser le bateau vers le sud! LOL »

3. août 2018 0:00

Antoine COUSOT se trouve aujourd’hui à 450 milles de l’équateur mais peut se satisfaire d’avoir rattrapé et dépassé le sillage virtuel du vainqueur de la course originelle SIR ROBIN KNOX JOHNSTON. Une satisfaction qui s’ajoute à celle de toucher enfin les alizés de sud-est qui marquent la fin du Pot au Noir. La vie à bord risque d’être un peu ralenti dans les prochains jours car il vient de se fouler la cheville droite… rien de grave, car cela ne l’a pas empêché de collecter de l’eau de pluie, à tel point qu’il peut se permettre de prendre deux douches par jours!

1. août 2018 0:00

Seul en classe Chichester, ANTOINE COUSOT est aussi le seul maintenant a rester englué dans la zone de convergence intertropicale (le nom technique du Pot au Noir !). Son tracker affichait 0 nœud fin juillet.. et 3 noeuds début aout ! La difficulté sera pour lui de descendre le plus rapidement possible vers le sud, pour échapper à cette zone sans vent qui semble vouloir se développer autour de lui dans les prochains jours…et la faible brise annoncée risque d’être de face ! Antoine reste confiant et motivé, ses messages textes et audio montrent qu’il apprécie maintenant chaque instant de son aventure depuis son escale aux Canaries qui lui a permis de se projeter de manière plus sereine.

20. juillet 2018 0:00

Antoine est à nouveau en selle, rapportant que son régulateur d’allure fonctionne bien maintenant. Il s’installe dans un rythme régulier et semble beaucoup plus à l’aise avec tout cela. Il se plaint de manquer de vent, ne réalisant pas que c’est le cas pour tous. C’est compréhensible pour lui de penser que tout le monde s’éloigner de lui étant donné qu’il a si peu d’informations du monde extérieur.

18. juillet 2018 0:00

Antoine est de retour en mer après un arrêt à la Marina Rubicon, a Lanzarote et en tant que tel, il devient le premier à rejoindre la catégorie Chichester. Il a parlé avec beaucoup d’honnêteté à Lanzarote des défis auxquels il était confronté. Il était très content du bateau mais il se demandait si la décision de ne naviguer sans enrouleur est la bonne. Il s’est battu avec le régulateur d’allure et a constaté que sa consommation d’eau était de 2,5 litres par jour plutôt que de 2 litres par jour. Son départ retardé de Lanzarote a laisser paraitre un homme qui se débat avec ses doutes sur ce qui l’attend. Espérons que le petit répit à Lanzarote aura remis les compteurs à zéro pour les kilomètres à venir.

16. juillet 2018 0:00

Chez Antoine, nous pouvons constater qu’il était en difficulté. Son visage a tout dit lors de son arrivée au point de passage de Lanzarote, où il a fait une halte et a rejoint la catégorie Chichester. Il a eu des difficultés à naviguer en solitaire. Cela signifie qu’il était en prise avec la fatigue, avec laquelle, à son tour, il est si difficile de lutter pour continuer à naviguer vers le sud. Des temps difficiles pour Antoine.

11. juillet 2018 0:00

Antoine a clairement du mal à faire fonctionner son régulateur d’allure harmonieusement avec son bateau. Une autopilote efficace est essentiel pour les courses en solitaire et sans quoi cela peut devenir critique. Antoine doit barrer pour progresser ce qui entraîne très rapidement une grande fatigue. Malgré cela, il semble optimiste par ces derniers échanges, appréciant les rencontres avec les dauphins.

6. juillet 2018 0:00

Antoine Cousot

Antoine a bien navigué et est resté dans le groupe. Son tracking n’a pas fonctionné depuis le début et il n’a pu réparer. Sa deuxième unité de tracking est aujourd’hui activée et c’est un rappel sévère pour les skippers. Pouvoir garder leur bateau en état de marche est l’une des clés pour aller jusqu’au bout de la Golden Globe Race.

3. mai 2018 0:00

Après le baptême de son Biscay 36, Métier Intérim, à Nantes, le skipper français Antoine Cousot projette de traverser la mer Celtique de Cork à Dublin avant de revenir à Falmouth début juin pour un dernier antifouling et être fin prêt pour le défilé nautique “Suhaili 50e Falmouth” et le SITRAN Challenge le 14 juin.

5. avril 2018 0:00

Antoine Cousot naviguera cette semaine à bord de son Biscaye 36 « Métier Intérim » vers la vallée de la Loire et remontera jusqu’à Nantes pour une cérémonie de baptême privé le 5 avril. Il planifie ensuite de continuer les essais en mer et de travailler sur le bateau pour un voyage en solitaire à travers la mer Celtique jusqu’à Cork et Dublin avant de retourner à Falmouth début juin pour la « Suhaili 50 Falmouth Parade of Sail » et le SITRaN Challenge, puis un retour aux Sables d’Olonne le 14 juin.

5. décembre 2017 0:00

Exposition du bateau au Salon Nautique de Paris

4. mai 2017 0:00

Viscaya rebaptisé Goldstar à Falmouth Boat Co

Photos & Vidéos Skipper

pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic

facebook
twitter
soundcloud
instagram
youtube
flickr
QUIT

Antoine Cousot (47)

France

Profile

Name Antoine Cousot

Born May 9th 1971

Nationality French

Country of entry France

Antoine Cousot is a professional sailor based in Noirmoutier, France, with his wife and three children. He has sailed the equivalent of three times around the world, delivering boats and skippering large luxury yachts. With over 15 oceans crossing under his belt, Antoine has extensive passage making experience.

Antoine is working with Oceano Vox Vendée, a local non-profit organization to raise awareness of environmental issues and conduct researches on psychology during the Race.
Why enter the GGR? Antoine says: “It is a unique opportunity to take this relationship with the sea even further. It is a challenge to accomplish what few sailors have done before; it is a quest with cosmic dimensions.
I have had to give up an international career, a comfortable living and sell my house and boat. I have returned to France with my family and created a company to manage this project. This entrepreneurship has its ups and downs and is very demanding but all in all, a rich experience of personal teaching and discipline that will help me in whatever I decide to do after. As for others, just getting to the start is a victory but more, I want to realize a dream to sail in the wake of Bernard Moitessier and say, I did it!”

Antoine is also using the campaign to raise £1m for The Antoine Cousot Scholarship Fund to give 50 students the opportunity to transform their futures, through flexible, practical education in Environment, Earth and Ecosystem Sciences run by the Open University, which, like the GGR is celebrating its 50th anniversary. Antoine, an Open University graduate says, “The OU changed my openness to the world we’re living in. They came to me with the right tools at the right time, helping me pursue my dreams. Now, I want to share my experience with others – learning is intimately part of our life.”

profile
boat

Boat

RACE NO 1
Name Métier Intérim
Type Biscay 36 Masthead ketch
Designer Alan Hill
Builder Robert Ives/Falmouth Boat Construction (UK)
LOA 35.92ft / 10.95m
LWL 27.23ft / 8.30m
Beam 10.75ft / 3.28m
Draft 5.75ft / 1.75m
Displacement 15680lbs / 7112kg
Sail area 667sq. ft / 62sq. m

Antoine Cousot’s Biscay 36 was the first of these classic ketch designs, built by Robert Ives/Falmouth Boat Construction in 1975. She returned there during the 2016/7 winter for a full refit. Relaunched in May 2017, Antoine then sailed her during the summer in the gulf of Biscay. The yacht was then exhibited at the 2017 Paris Nautic Boat Show.
Cousot has won sponsorship from the Vendée based employment agency Métier Intérim and has devoted the early Spring months to getting as much experience as possible in the winter storms of the Atlantic to readiness himself for the Southern Ocean.

Skipper Updates

September 3rd 2018 12:00 AM

“METIER INTERIM WELL ARRIVED LAST EVENING TO RIO DE JANEIRO” It was the last text message of Antoine sent yesterday to GGR Race Control. With the arrival of ANTOINE COUSOT in Rio de Janeiro, which puts an end to his ambitious project, mainly because of injuries to his shoulder and to his foot.It is sad but it is the lot of this race around the world, solo and nonstop, without modern equipments of communication. Fortunately, his great sea experience allowed him to take shelter safely.

August 31st 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine ate his last piece of fresh fruit and today “Metier Interim slaloming in between cargos and oil rigs” around 6 knots. He told us this morning on his weekly Sat Phone Call that he is getting ready to sail over a zone of shallow and will be arriving to Rio tomorrow.
“COUPLE of BIRDS AND A PLACIDAL WHALE ACCOMPANY ME”

August 27th 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine Cousot (Biscay 36 Métier Intérim) who made a stop in Lanzarote early in the race, was relegated to the Chichester Class, intended for those stopping once or requesting assistance during the race. Antoine announced last Wednesday that he was heading to Trinity Island to heal his shoulder and thumb injuries and to repair his windvane before heading to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. “HEADING TO BRAZIL:I must sadly stop”.He will have to retire from the race by arriving at the port, within a week.

August 17th 2018 12:00 AM

These last days Antoine Cousot had the “Sensation on waking to be a fish cooked in salt crust” still with high temperatures and slight winds.Today he seems to start on racing again at 4 nds on his tracker, “Metier Interim still heading south on the tradewinds highway!”. He told us during his Sat phone call this morning, that the navigation is very agitated and it’s difficult to sleep, and that he has many little things to repair that will keep him busy on board, like the halyard which broke or his windvane making sounds…The zone of high pressure which is in front of him should be absorbed before his passage, and he should tacked soon to dive Southeast and get closer to the direct route to Cape Town which is still over 2750 NM away !

August 13th 2018 12:00 AM

ANTOINE COUSOT, now second in the Chichester class behind PHILIPPE PECHE. He will have to continue on the same side for several days, which should allow him to continue the many readings that pace his solitary navigation.” read in one night Terre des hommes of St Exupery! Great”.

August 9th 2018 12:00 AM

ANTOINE COUSOT (Chichester Class) progresses with difficulty towards the south, in winds which pushs Metier Interim frankly towards the west. He wrote to us this week “A WEEK OF CLOSEHAULED. THE SOUTH HAS TO BE EARNED”.Fortunately, he could hear yesterday the voices of his children, recorded on a good old vintage cassette tape ! An invaluable comfort for these sailors whose isolation begins to be felt after nearly 40 days at sea.”CALM SEA NO WIND.WILL SWIM and PUSH THE BOAT TO THE SOUTH!LOL”

August 3rd 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine COUSOT is still 450 miles away from the equator but can be satisfied with having caught up with and surpassed the virtual route of SIR ROBIN KNOX JOHNSTON. A satisfaction that adds to finally touching the southeast trade winds, which marks the end of the Doldrums. Life on board may be a little slowed down in the next few days because he just sprained his right ankle … nothing serious, because that did not prevent him from collecting rainwater, to such point that he can afford to have two showers a day!

August 1st 2018 12:00 AM

The only one in Chichester class, ANTOINE COUSOT is also the only one now to remain stuck in the intertropical convergence zone (the technical name of the Doldrums!). His tracker showed 0 knots at the end of July.. and 3 knots in early august! The difficulty will be for him to go down as quickly as possible to the south, to escape this area without wind that seems to want to develop around him in the coming days … and the weak breeze announced may be headwinds! Antoine remains confident and motivated, his text and audio messages report that he now appreciates each moment of his adventure even more since his stopover in the Canary Islands which allowed him to sail and reflect on the journey more serenely.

July 20th 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine is very much back on the horse, reporting that his self steering unit is working well now. He is settling in to a steady pace and sounded much more comfortable with this endeavour. He is complaining that he is running out of wind not realising that this is the case across the field. Understandable for him to think that everyone else is hauling away from him given that he has so little information from the outside world.

July 18th 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine is back at sea after a stop at Rubicon Marina, Lanzarote and as such he becomes the first to join the Chichester Class. He spoke with great honesty in Lanzarote about the challenges he was facing. HE was very happy with the boat but wondered whether the decision to not sail with a roller furling unit was good one. He had struggled with self steering and had found that his water consumption was 2.5 litres per day rather than an expected 2 litres per day. His delayed departure from Lanzarote spoke of a man wrestling with doubts about what lies ahead. Lets hope that small respite in Lanzarote has reset him for the miles ahead.

July 16th 2018 12:00 AM

In Antoine we can see a person struggling. His face said it all at the Lanzarote film drop, where he has made a stop and joined the Chichester Class.. He is struggling to get his boat to self steer. This has meant that he is struggling with fatigue, which in turn makes it so hard to wrestle with continuing south. Tough times for Antoine.

July 11th 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine is clearly still struggling to get his windvane self steering working in harmony with his boat. Effective self steering is so critical to single handed voyaging and without it. Antoine must handsteer to make progress which very quickly leads to serious fatigue. Despite this he appears upbeat in his updates appreciating the encounters with dolphins.

July 6th 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine has sailed well enough to keep amongst the fleet

Antoine has sailed well enough to keep amongst the fleet. His tracking unit stopped working prior to the start and he has been unable to revive it. His second tracking unit has been activated now but it is a stark reminder that the ability of the skippers to keep their boat functioning is such a key part of completing the Golden Globe Race.

May 3rd 2018 12:00 AM

Following her baptism in Nantes, French skipper Antoine Cousot plans to sail his Biscay 36 ketch Métier Intérim solo across the Celtic Sea to Cork and Dublin before returning to Falmouth early June for a final haul out and antifoul in readiness for the Suhaili 50 Falmouth Parade of Sail and the SITRaN race back to Les Sables d’Olonne on June 14.

April 5th 2018 12:00 AM

Antoine Cousot is sailing his Biscay 36 ketch Métier Intérim down to the Loire Valley this week and motoring up river to Nantes for a private naming ceremony on April 5. He then plans to continue mixing sea trials and work on the boat to ready her for solo voyage across the Celtic Sea to Cork and Dublin before returning to Falmouth early June for a final haul out and antifoul in readiness for the Suhaili 50 Falmouth Parade of Sail and the SITRaN race back to Les Sables d’Olonne on June 14.

December 5th 2017 12:00 AM

Yacht displayed at Paris Nautic Show

May 4th 2017 12:00 AM

Viscaya relaunched at Falmouth Boat Co

Clips & Pics Skipper

pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic
pic