facebook
twitter
soundcloud
instagram
youtube
flickr
PROVISIONAL 2022

Michael Date (58)

Australia

Suhaili

Profile

Name Michael Date

Born November 25th 1961

Nationality Australian

Country of entry Australia

Race GGR 2022

Boat Class Suhaili

My age is 57 I live in Currumbin Waters Queensland Australia. I am married with 4 children and 1 dog. My children are Mekayla 23 , Tristan 22, Benjamin 17 and Tyron 12. I have been involved in the Marine Industry most of my life. I had my own business for 17 years which I sold in 2017. In the middle of this my wife said “You love boats so much why dont you join the Navy ?” So I did but I sailed underwater instead of on top. I have survived a bout of cancer late last year and got the green light in January, which really puts your life into perspective. I am currently employed by the Boating Industry Association of Australia as the Queensland Membership Officer. My sailing has consisted of OK Dinghy’s, Light Weight Sharpies, 16 Ft Skiffs and many yachts in between. I have owned a Currawong 30 Helen of Troy aka the “The Other Women” (My wife Helen’s name for her) for the last 7 years which I sold early last year. I bought “Harmony” (My wife calls the bitch) a few months ago and applied for entry to the GGR. “Harmony” is in the middle of a major refit which hopefully will be finished by November.

profile
boat

Boat [Suhaili]

Name Harmony
Type Aries 32
Designer Thomas Gillmer
Builder C.C Chen Boatyard Ltd (Taiwan)
LOA 32ft
LWL 26ft
Beam 9.58ft
Draft 5.0ft
Displacement 16000lbs
Sail Area 470 sq. ft