UK Flag French Flag

Le participant à la GGR Guy deBoer s’échoue de nuit sur un récif aux Canaries, alors que la flotte passe la première porte

  • Guy deBoer sur les récifs de la côte nord de Fuerteventura, Las Palmas, Canaries, ‘Spirit’ est échoué mais lui est indemne. Sauvetage du bateau à l’étude.
  • Simon Curwen, Tapio Lehtinen, Pat Lawless et Abhilash Tomy, premiers bateaux à passer la porte photo de Marina Rubicon.
  • Pat Lawless, victime d’une infection au genou, bientôt à court d’antibiotiques mais continue.
  • La flotte risque l’arrêt aux Canaries, sauf un concurrent, et de rencontrer tempête tropicale au-devant de la flotte en fin de semaine.

C’est la concurrente Sud-Africaine Kirsten Neuschäfer qui a relayé l’appel Mayday à la VHF de Guy deBoer au PC Course GGR ce vendredi matin à 03 :10 TU. Son Tashiba 36 s’est échoué sur la côte nord de Fuerteventura, à seulement 10 miles de la porte de Marina Rubicon à Lanzarote. Il a activé son EPIRB et à 03:24 TU a contacté le PC GGR avec son téléphone satellite. 

5h45 heure locale le 18 septembre 2022. Guy DeBoer et “SPIRIT” heurtent des rochers à 50 mètres de la plage sur la côte nord de FUERTEVENTURA dans les îles Canaries. Crédit photo : GGR 2022 / Alex Craig

« Spirit » était posé sur les rochers, à distance de la plage, incliné à 45°, durement touché par les le ressac et poussé lentement par les vagues sur les rochers. Guy, qui était en contact permanent avec le PC GGR et le Centre Régional Opérationnel de Sauvetage, avait préparé son radeau de survie, mais a décidé de rester en sécurité à l’intérieur de son solide voilier. Il a attendu le lever du jour, ne voyant pas la côte et estimant que les conditions pour une utilisation sûre du radeau, sur un récif battu par les vagues, n’étaient pas réunies.

A 04:10 TU le MRCC Las Palmas a informé le PC GGR que les premiers secours étaient sur la plage, à 50 mètres du bateau qui était posé sur les rochers, mais les conditions n’étaient pas encore réunies et Guy a décidé de ne pas évacuer son voilier. Finalement, à 04:36 TU, Guy a abandonné son bateau à pied avec l’aide de la police et des pompiers tandis qu’un remorqueur était déjà en route vers sa position. Guy a été emmené vers un hôtel, et n’est pas blessé.

Après une évaluation tôt le matin par les autorités, il a été décidé qu’une tentative de remorquage de Spirit à marée haute était trop risquée. Les autorités locales ont décidé de pomper la totalité du carburant du bateau pour éviter une pollution aux hydrocarbures potentielle et travaillent avec l’équipe de Guy et son assurance sur une remise à flot et un remorquage avec le plus faible impact environnemental possible. La zone est populaire auprès des surfeurs locaux et touristes.

Lundi matin, à 9h30, j’ai rendez-vous avec une grande société de sauvetage afin d’envisager le meilleur plan d’action qui, à ce stade, consiste à tracter le voilier sur les rochers durs, mais heureusement pas sur des récifs fragiles

Ajoute Guy deBoer

Sa coque est incroyablement solide et épaisse, elle devrait donc être capable de supporter le choc ! Il a pris un sacré coup jusqu’à présent et la coque est en bon état. J’espère le voir naviguer à nouveau, mais nous ne pouvons pas laisser le bateau sur place.

La Golden Globe Race tient à remercier tous les secouristes qui ont répondu avec tant de professionnalisme et de rapidité à une situation très exigeante et difficile qui a eu une issue positive.

Kirsten ne cachait pas sa déception de n’être que 6°. Crédit photo : GGR 2022 / Nora Havel

L’ambiance était très différente durant la nuit et le jour précédent lorsque Guy, fraîchement rasé, a franchi la porte de Lanzarote en 5° position derrière Abhilash Tomy, et devant Kirsten Neuschäfer. Kirsten ne cachait pas sa déception de n’être que 6° et devant les revers de fortune d’Aleix Selles et Damien Guillou, mais confirmait que son Cape George 36 était sorti indemne du Golfe de Gascogne, alors qu’elle était épuisée par les longues heures sous spi à la barre de Minnehaha, même si, comme elle le dit

Le bateau n’a pas besoin de moi et pourrait naviguer tout seul…”.

Quelques heures avant eux, Pat Lawless avait battu Abhilash Tomy dans leur bataille longue d’une semaine pour la 3° place. L’option de Pat à l’Est de la flotte lui a coûté cher en début de semaine mais lui a permis une magnifique remontée vendredi et samedi. L’enthousiasme de Pat est contagieux et il était radieux quand on lui a annoncé sa position dans la flotte !

Son genou droit lui, va moins bien, une condition préexistante à la GGR qui est revenue de manière inattendue au cours de la première semaine de navigation. Pat est en contact régulier avec le médecin de la course, MSOS Direct, et prend les antibiotiques prescrits. Il lui a été conseillé de s’arrêter à Lanzarote pour emmener des antibiotiques plus puissants à bord, mais il aurait perdu le contact avec les premiers, et aurait été relégué en Classe Chichester pour assistance extérieure.

Pat Lawless, victime d’une infection au genou, bientôt à court d’antibiotiques mais continue. Crédit photo : GGR2022 / Aïda Valceanu

C’est une vieille blessure qui revient à force de ramper sur le pont

a dit Pat Lawless

Il n’y a pas moyen que je sois relégué en Classe Chichester, pas une minute, donc je continue, tout ira bien !

Pat pourra reconsidérer sa décision en fonction de l’évolution de son genou, et pourrait faire un arrêt au Cap Vert après une semaine supplémentaire de navigation.

Abhilash Tomy en 4° place, a révélé lors du passage de la porte qu’il avait souffert pendant 10 jours après son départ des Sables d’Olonne d’un sévère syndrome post-traumatique sans pouvoir se nourrir.  Revivre son sauvetage et la grave blessure au dos subie lors de l’édition 2018 de la GGR ont complètement chamboulé sa concentration. Lui-même surpris par cette réaction, il est maintenant de retour dans l’édition 2022 avec une réelle détermination.

Abhilash Tomy à la porte du film GGR2022 Marina Rubicon. Crédit photo : GGR2022 / Aïda Valceanu

Quelques miles devant, c’est Simon Curwen qui est solidement en tête sur son Biscay 36 après s’être détaché de Tapio Lehtinen qui avait choisi une route moins directe sous grand spi dans l’espoir de vents plus forts, qu’il n’a jamais trouvé. Tous deux étaient très satisfaits du résultat même s’ils étaient déçus pour Damien Guillou, eux qui attendaient avec impatience une confrontation directe avec le favori français, maintenant 550 miles derrière eux !

Alors que tous dans le groupe compacte du milieu de flotte composé de Guy Waites, Michael Guggenberger, Ertan Beskardes et Jeremy Bagshaw ont franchi la porte ce week-end, les milles restants seront plus difficiles pour Elliott Smith, Ian Herbert-Jones, et leurs poursuivant, une grosse zone sans vent arrivant de Madère tombe maintenant sur les Canaries et devrait y rester jusqu’à mardi, ralentissant leur progression vers Lanzarote.

Skipper Michael Guggenberger au waypoint de Lanzarote. Crédit photo : GGR2022 / Nora Havel

750 milles au sud de Lanzarote, à l’Est de l’archipel du Cap Vert le long des côtes africaines, une tempête tropicale se formera vraisemblablement le jeudi 22 pour se renforcer le vendredi 23 avec des vents prévus autour de 50 nœuds. Celle-ci est sur la route des leaders de la flotte, le PC Course suit la situation de près.

Encore une semaine palpitante en perspective !

Follow the race:

Weekly exclusive Entrants satellite call interview opportunity for accredited media here !

Media Contacts:

For more media and entry information contact:

Sébastien Delasnerie, GGR Race Director and Joint Media Director
sebastien@goldengloberace.com
Skype : sebastien delasnerie

avatar

Title Partner

Major Partners

Premium Partners

Technical Partners

Associations

UK Flag French Flag

GGR entrant Guy deBoer runs onto rocks at night in Canaries while the fleet moves through the first ‘film gate’

  • Guy deBoer (USA) crashes into rocks at night on the north coast of Fuerteventura, Las Palmas in the Canaries, his yacht now stranded but he is safe. Salvage under investigation.
  • Simon Curwen (UK), Tapio Lehtinen (FIN), Pat Lawless (Ireland) and Abhilash Tomy (India) first through the Marina Rubicon film gate.
  • Pat Lawless is suffering a knee infection, running low on antibiotics, but going forward.
  • Whole fleet at risk of being parked with no wind around the Canaries and a hurricane may be forming ahead of the fleet late next week.

It was South African GGR entrant Kirsten Neuschäfer (SA) who relayed Guy deBoer’s VHF radio Mayday call to GGR Race Control on Friday morning at 03:10 am UTC.

Guy’s Tashiba 36 had run aground on the North coast of Fuerteventura, just 10 miles from the Lanzarote Marina Rubicon film drop gate he had passed a few hours before. He had activated his EPIRB and at 04:24 UTC rang the GGR Race control on his Sat phone.  

5:45hrs local time 18th September 2022. Guy DeBoer and “SPIRIT” hit rocks 50m off the beach on the North Coast of Fuerteventura in the Canary Islands. Picture Credit: GGR2022 / Alex Craig

“Spirit” was sitting on rocks, away from the beach, tilting 45°, being pounded by heavy seas crashing over the boat.

The surf was pushing her slowly forward grinding over rocks. Guy who was in constant contact with Salvamento Maritimo, the local Rescue Coordination Center and GGR Race Control, was in a serious situation.

He had his life raft ready, but decided to remain inside Spirit, which was holding up. He planned to wait for daylight since he could not see the coast.

The conditions for a safe use of the life raft, or exit onto the rocks beaten by the surf were not right.

At 04:10 UTC the MRCC Las Palmas informed GGR Control that first responders were on the beach, 50m from the boat sitting on the bedrock. Conditions were difficult and Guy decided not to evacuate the yacht. At 04:36 UTC Guy finally abandoned his yacht by foot, greatly assisted by the local police and firefighters. A Government salvage tow boat was already en route towards them. Guy was taken to a local hotel without injuries.

Following an early morning Government assessment, it was considered too difficult to tow Spirit back to sea at high water. The authorities decided to pump all fuel from the boat to avoid a potential spill and are now working with Guy deBoer’s team and an insurance company on salvaging the Tashiba 36 with the least environmental impact. The area is a popular tourist surfing spot. 

At 9.30 Monday morning I am meeting with a large salvage company to consider the best course of action which, at this stage, looks like dragging her back over the hard rocks, fortunately not fragile reefs.

She has an incredibly strong and thick hull so should be able to take that ride! She has taken a pounding so far and the hull is fine. I hope to see her sail again, but certainly we cannot just leave her there.

Guy deBoer

Golden Globe Race wish to thank all those rescue personnel who responded so professionally and quickly to a very demanding and difficult situation which had a positive outcome.

5th Position: Guy DeBoer passing the gate in the early hours of Sept. 18th. Picture Credit: GGR2022 / Nora Havel
Kirsten Neuschäfer could not hide her disappointment at being 6th crossing the gate 25 minutes after Guy. Picture Credit: GGR2022 / Nora Havel

The mood was very different earlier that night and the day before as a freshly shaved Guy deBoer went through the Lanzarote Gate happy and confident to be in 5th position. Kirsten Neuschäfer could not hide her disappointment at being 6th crossing the gate 25 minutes after deBoer. Her Cape George 36 had sailed out of the Bay of Biscay unscathed and was in excellent shape, although she was tired from the long hours under spinnaker at the helm of Minnehaha, even if, as she said:

The boat doesn’t need me and can sail by herself.

Hours before them, Pat Lawless had beaten Abhilash Tomy in their week-long fight for the 3rd spot. Pat’s option east of the fleet cost him dearly earlier in the week but enabled him a magnificent come back on Friday and Saturday. Pat’s enthusiasm is infectious and he was radiant when told his position in the fleet! 

Infectious also is his right knee, a pre-existing medical condition to the GGR which has come back unexpectedly during the first week of sailing. Pat is in regular contact with the race doctor, MSOS Direct, and taking antibiotics as advised. He was advised to stop in Lanzarote to stock up with stronger antibiotics on board, but this would have meant losing contact with the leaders, as well as accepting external assistance and being moved to Chichester Class. 

Pat Lawless is suffering a knee infection, running low on antibiotics, but going forward. Picture Credit: GGR2022 / Aïda Valceanu

This is an old injury that has come up after crawling on deck. There is no way I want to move into Chichester Class, not for a minute, so I sail on! It will be fine.

Pat Lawless

He could reconsider this decision if it gets worse and make a stop in Cape Verde Islands in a week or so sailing south.

Abhilash Tomy holds 4th place and revealed during the film drop that after leaving Les Sables d’Olonne he suffered for 10 days with severe PTSD syndrome. He could not eat for those 10 days. Re-living his rescue and severe back injury inflicted during the 2018 edition of the GGR upset his ability to concentrate. This reaction surprised even himself. Now he is back into the 2022 edition with real focus and determination.

Abhilash Tomy at the GGR2022 Marina Rubicon Film Gate. Picture Credit: GGR2022 / Aïda Valceanu

A few miles ahead, it is Simon Curwen in his Biscay 36 CLARA solidly in the lead after breaking away from Tapio Lehtinen who chose a less direct route under his biggest spinnaker in a bid to find stronger winds. He didn’t. Both were very satisfied with the result, although they too, were disappointed for Damien Gillou. They were definitely looking forward to a direct confrontation with the French favourite now still 550 miles astern!

While the tight mid-fleet group of Guy Waites, Michael Guggenberger, known as Captain Gugg , Ertan Beskardes and Jeremy Bagshaw have all gone through the gate over the weekend, the remaining miles will be more challenging for Elliott Smith and Ian Herbert-Jones. A big wind hole arriving from Madeira is taking over the Canaries and is meant to stay until Tuesday, slowing down their progression towards Lanzarote.

Skipper Michael Guggenberger at the waypoint in Lanzarote. Picture Credit: GGR2022 / Nora Havel

750 miles further south from Lanzarote,  just to the east of the Cape Verde island on the African coast, a tropical depression/hurricane may be forming on Thursday 22nd and building into Friday 23rd. Forecast winds are expected to be around 50kts. This is right in the path of the GGR leaders and middle fleet. GGR control is monitoring it closely. 

Another interesting week ahead!

avatar

Title Partner

Major Partners

Premium Partners

Technical Partners

Associations